
State of Wisconsin 

Department of Workforce Development 
 

Annual Adjustment of Thresholds for Application of Prevailing Wage Rates  
 

The Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development proposes an order to amend s. DWD 

290.155 (1), relating to the annual adjustment of thresholds for application of prevailing wage 

rates. 

 

 

Analysis by the Department of Workforce Development 

Statutory authority:  Sections 66.0903 (5) and 103.49 (3g), Stats. 

Statutes interpreted:  Sections 66.0903 (5) and 103.49 (3g), Stats. 

 

The state prevailing wage laws require that, when a state agency or local governmental unit 

constructs a public works project, it must obtain a prevailing wage rate determination from the 

Department of Workforce Development and require that the contractors and subcontractors on the 

project pay their employees in accordance with those wage rates. Under ss. 66.0903 (5) and 103.49 

(3g), Stats., and the current s. DWD 290.155 (1) the state prevailing wage rate laws do not apply to 

any single-trade public works project with an estimated cost below $36,000, and they do not apply 

to any multi-trade public works project with an estimated cost below $175,000. 

 

Under ss. 66.0904 (5) and 103.49(3g), Stats., and DWD 290.15, the Department is required to 

adjust the dollar amounts of the thresholds each year, in proportion to any change in construction 

costs since the thresholds were last determined. The proposed rule changes the thresholds to $37,000 

for single-trade projects and $180,000 for multi-trade projects, based on a 2.7% increase in the 

construction cost index between December 2001 and December 2002. 



SECTION 1.  DWD 290.155 (1) is amended to read:   

 DWD 290.155 (1) This chapter does not apply to any single-trade public works project for 

which the estimated cost of completion is below $36,000 $37,000, and any multi-trade public 

works project for which the estimated cost of completion is below $175,000 $180,000. 

  

SECTION 2.  EFFECTIVE DATE. This rule shall take effect on the first day of the month following 

publication in the Wisconsin administrative register as provided in s. 227.22(2)(intro.), Stats. 

 

(End) 


